• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Building next computer, need useful link

Building next computer, need useful links

Pages: 12
Hello everybody. I used to have a room mate that built all of his computers, and I've decided that I'm going to build my next one. But I've never really put a computer together before. I've taken them apart, but that's a different story. Anyway, I was wondering if anybody had any links that would help me better understand what I'm about to undertake. I don't know how to tell which parts are compatible or not, or if I should buy a case with a motherboard already in it or anything. Basically, I'm a newbie at this, and this forum has always been a great deal of help. If anybody has any suggestions or advice, it would be greatly appreciated. As always, thanks in advance all.

tl;dr Introduction to computer construction links please.
Start by choosing a CPU, then choose a motherboard that supports it. You can find compatibility lists on the manufacturer's site. Pick memory that is clocked as close to the CPU's FSB as possible, and make sure that the motherboard supports that type of memory. If the memory is slower, it will still work, but it will be a bottleneck. If you're going to use Dual Channel, there's typically quite a few restrictions on the configurations that the motherboard will allow to run in that mode, so just buy the same memory twice or more to avoid that headache. Make sure they're the exact same model. When choosing the power supply, the advertised wattage is how much power it can supply without overloading, so depending on how many things you intend on installing, you'll need a bigger or smaller power supply. Here's a calculator you can use: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
That's about it. The other components don't have many special considerations, unless you plan on putting together a RAID.