intermediate programmer ????

closed account (iw0XoG1T)
What constitutes a beginner? Just curious--I consider myself a beginner, but I have been programming on and off with C++ for years. Now in my defense I am older than most of the individuals who post here--and I believe that your mind does not work as well after you turn 40.
Now that I stated that I am a beginner, and I have been screwing around for years, what do you expect an individual to know and use with proficiency in C++ before they can be called an intermediate C++ programmer.
Memorizing the syntax does not make a programmer. Being able to solve real world problems and know what tools to use, does. An intermediate programmer would be you're average programmer that can solve typical business problems and write relatively bug free code, that needs direction on more difficult problems (this describes most developers). An expert programmer is everyone else.... and would probably be more along the lines of a programmer that can solve highly complex problems with mostly bug free code that fully understands the underlying concepts of computer science. Problems that fall outside of the normal business op issues for example simulation or scientific programming, or difficult system integrations.
I find that the definitions of beginner, intermediate, expert, and master are highly relative and change radically from person to person. I kinda like Return 0's, though.

-Albatross
Its very subjective. But I would tend to class people who are still learning the syntax and basic how control loops work, how to define a class etc... as beginners. When they have those things together then I suppose they enter into the intermediate zone. The intermediate zone lasts for about 10 years... ;o)