How long does it take to "learn" C++?

I ask this question question just out of curiosity, since I've been learning C++ for 2 months+ now and I still dont know much about templates and the STL (not to mention exceptions,WinAPI and type casting). I know it would take very long to actually master the language (several years perhaps). But I'm hoping I can finish learning templates and STL containers in a few weeks (I have no idea how difficult/easy they are) and perhaps begin some very basic graphics tutorials next year.

So how long did it take you to learn C++?

PS: When I say learn C++, I mean you are comfortable with designing simple graphical games in C++ and most other aspects of the language.
Last edited on
So how long did it take you to learn C++?

Indefinitely. I do it quite some time now, I earn my money doing it, I try to become better by reading books about it, and still I do get my share of WTFs per day. For example, look at the recent discussions here:
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/4530/
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/4444/
For making a game, you have to deal with numbers - lots of them, and in ugly situations. For problems, look e.g. here:
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/3827/

The above examples should show you that there is indeed enough rope provided by C++ to hang yourself and any programmer who comes after you.

But I'm hoping I can finish learning templates and STL containers in a few weeks

In a few weeks you can "learn" the whole standard, if you really want to. But in fact you won't have learned anything. Take your time, always practice what you have learned, and increase your knowledge as you go on. There is *always* a better solution than you have. So don't ever stop seeking it.