New to Linux

Pages: 12
I am completely new to Linux and since I sent my computer to the "shop" I figured I'd get a new hard drive and partition it with Linux (Windows XP on the other).

Being completely new I don't know a thing about working with Linux. I am looking for anyone to give me advice choosing a Linux distribution, what I need once I'm installed, and how to get programming with C++ on Linux. Any user friendly desktop schemes and handy programs would also be great.

Basically, I'm asking for anything you think would help a Linux noob.

Thanks in advance.

Doing the same transition as you, I started with a straightforward Ubuntu installation. From within, you can install the code::blocks IDE (integrated development environment) - it has a graphical installation from a program called "ubuntu software center" - you will find it without any help from us I am sure.

It all works out of the box, even a little easier than with Visual studio express, however I warn you that, to my experience, code::blocks is a little less productive than Visual studio due to its 1) inferior autocomplete 2) it gets a bit laggy on files larger than 20k lines. However, it has in general superior syntax highlighting and looks a bit better than Visual studio, when you get used to it.

For other IDE's:

http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/lounge/44773/

(warning: don't pick Eclipse! Eclipse sets the standard for a badly written IDE).
Last edited on
closed account (S6k9GNh0)
Awesome, my post disappeared... for a second time.

Basically, my post consisted of recommending Fedora. Ubuntu has development packages but they're often aged (such as Boost). Arch Linux has rolling updates for the latest stable development packages. Fedora is a mixture of ease of use and up-to-date development packages at the cost of non-proprietary software (although this can be fixed with 3rd-party repositories that handle the packages) and TERRIBLE user support.
closed account (1yR4jE8b)