• Forum
  • Lounge
  • is programming a doomed future do to out

is programming a doomed future do to outsourced contracts

Is programming a doomed future do to people outsourcing the work they need to have done. why pay a small programming groups thousands when they can email the design docs to someone in india and have them do it for 1/10th the cost then email the docs and code back. no travel required. Is this really a big concern?
Last edited on
closed account (3hM2Nwbp)
What do you mean by doomed? From what I've seen lately, freelancing is the future of quite a chunk of programming jobs.

*Edit - Programmers are a dime a dozen in most of the world anymore. If one wants to make a killer living, try plumbing. Plumbers in my area (Northeast United States) make 100-300% more hourly than the average programmer does.
Last edited on
closed account (1yR4jE8b)
I make my living freelancing, working from home.
@darkestfright

If it's not to personal, I would find it interesting to know how much money you can expect from a month of freelancing?
Last edited on
Not if you live in India.

king214: My best project so far payed USD 8/hr, or about USD 1600 a month.
Not all development is outsourced. There are numerous factors that determine whether to outsource a project and cost is just one of them. I do quite a bit of consulting (12 years now) and, in the US, you can earn substantially more than a salaried developer. It simply depends on the company and project.

Depending on the type of project, a senior level developer can stand to earn between $75/hr - $150/hr consulting. Their are some... unsavory aspects of consulting that some may find unacceptable. My recommendation is to always find full time employment.
closed account (1yR4jE8b)