The project

Pages: 12
What is you bigest programmging project that you made or you will make?
I'm very new to programming but I'm working on a text-based RPG. I havent gone too far but its taught me more concepts that I can remember.
So far under 1000 lines.

Ever? I plan to write the program for, and building, a robot that can take over the world. It will be able to reproduse itself, and improve on its design, so that it might replace the human race. I will use it to make/bring me lemonaid in the summer, and to mow my lawn.
Hmm...intresting...
I'm writing blackjack game now and it is my first serious programming project. Everything goes really good. Main code i made in one day (actually three days. Two days wasn't good so i deleted all my code and third day I made main code in 4h.)
Now I'm trying to add colors, primitive card pictures, money counting and and game will save rezults to text file. I think I'll post code when I'll finish it.
Last edited on
Large applications tend to be the work of several developers, which makes it hard to say how large any individual contribution is.
There are also projects that are made up of several seperate applications (at the moment I am working on software to control a particular piece of hardware - there is the embedded code on the DSP and the communications / control software on a PC - both are needed for the 'application' to be useful).
C++ can also be coded in a range of styles - it has a lot of scope for very concise code so that the same algorithm can be written on 2 lines or 10. Personally, I often prefer the 10 line version as the intent fequently clearer but that does not make my code 5 times as complex - in fact the reverse is true!
In terms of actual numbers, the Delphi applcation I work on is ~270,000 lines, the C++ apps are smaller but probably in the region of 100,000 lines.