2D Game Engine

Pages: 12
I'm currently writing my own game engine in SFML and I was thinking: what exactly does a game engine NEED?

So far, i have:
- State Management
- Resource Management

Not much, I know but I'm just starting out!
Please suggest some features :)
I figured that a good way to start writing a game engine would to be write some games, find patterns and put them together in some reusable form.
I did, and those 2 things were the only thing they resembled...

EDIT: 500 posts :)
Last edited on
Assuming a platform game, you'll probably want to write some collision code, something to simplify writing ai, which could extend to writing a, possibly event based, system for handling animations and sounds, and maybe simple physics.
Assuming a 3d thing, there is a ton to do with graphics too.
It depends on how complex you want to make it.

Other things to consider than what you have already:
1. A rendering engine (wrap SFML); this might come under resource management
2. A physics engine
3. A scripting engine (embed Python or Lua)
4. Interfaces (IDrawable, , etc.) and base classes (Sprite, Actor, etc.)
5. Tools (ideally written in something other than C++; I think C# is commonly used in the industry)

I'm currently trying to write a game engine in C# with IronPython as a scripting language (someone here unkowingly gave me the idea) which uses the OpenTK library (a .Net wrapper for OpenGL, OpenAL and some other libraries), the .Net framework (obviously), IronPython, and Microsoft's Scripting library.
I'd probably write something to make integration of Haskell functions easier. But that's me.
Why Haskell?
I'm doing something like this myself with SFML and I have yet to run into the need for a scripting language. Is this just a round about way to not have to recompile your code? Maybe what I'm writing isn't so much a "Game Engine" as it is a game written in C++.