• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Is Java a good language to learn Besides

Is Java a good language to learn Besides C++ ??

Pages: 123... 5
Hello all , I've been learning C++ for 3 months till now and I was thinking about learning another language besides C++ !! I am thinking about Java because its technology allows its programs to run on almost all platforms :):)
So tell me Ur Opinions , thoughts :)

CMinus ,
A Boy who loves computers .
Well, you can learn Java, but it's really so similar to C++ that it will hardly be a revelation. I find it somewhat easier to "think" object-oriented in Java, and it has some runtime features that C++ doesn't have, but lacks other things I like in C++ (templates for instance are just syntactic sugar in Java, and not nearly as powerful as in C++, and the lack of operator overloading can be quite annoying sometimes because something like matrix1.mult(matrix2.mult(matrix3))) just looks silly).

If you want to learn something for fun, try a functional language.
Last edited on
If you like C++, you'll hate Java. All variables are passed by value to methods and there are many immutable types in Java that would be much more convenient in Mutable form. There are loads more things I hate about it but I won't go into details.

I recommend learning it. Its disgusting essence is being used more and more frequently.
Last edited on
If you like C++, you'll hate Java. All variables are passed by value to methods and there are many immutable types in Java that would be much more convenient in Mutable form.

Actually, all non-primitive types are passed by reference in Java, and the only type whose immutability can be annoying sometimesis String, but that's because a String is not a char array in Java.
Java would be good to learn, seeing as Android apps are primarily built on java, and the programming market is moving to the mobile domain.
hanst99 wrote:
Actually, all non-primitive types are passed by reference in Java
False:
public class ReferenceTest
{