Teaching programming

In about a month I'm going to apply to a TA job for an introductory course and for OOP.
The test is to give a public class, the subject will be decided a few days before.

Just wanted to know if you've got any suggestion, or care to share your experience as a teacher or an student.

Can't recall my own, only that really learn when joined a group to participate in the ICPC.

Regards
I'm a TA (actually, I'm not; I'm a researcher, but since my boss doesn't have a TA, I get to do it once in a while) at a University. Programming is most definitely not the main focus of the courses I assist, but it's considered a "necessary skill" (read: one semester of Intro to Java & OOP, 90% fails, scores are raised artificially and after deliberations about 80% "passed"). When an assignment involves a bit of programming, all hell breaks loose, and it's my job to guide the students.

I few things I've learned:
a) Assume your class knows nothing. Not because that's the case, but because any other assumption on their background knowledge is wrong. Things "everyone knows" are, in fact, not known by everyone.

b) State the obvious, then state it again. Remember back in school when you got annoyed because your teacher spent so much time on obvious things and skimmed over harder parts? It'll start making sense now. Once they understand the basics (and trust me: most of them still won't, regardless of how often you repeat it), they can do the harder parts by themselves. If they don't understand the basics, they're lost forever.

c) Code is scary. Intro to Java was a mandatory course which many failed, and even the sight of a line of code will send most students back into fetal position. Focus on explaining the logic, not the syntax. Use analogies. My favourite way of teaching the basics of programming is by telling a story that keeps on building on itself (see below).