Need some serious advice !

I am about to complete the last year of my College . I started programming in the hope of becoming a great Software engineer . However ,something went wrong somewhere . I find myself doing the same things again and again. I revise things thoroughly everytime I do them. But still ,time and again , I have to revise them.
For example:
I have recently done some algorithm say "preorder traversal of a BinaryTree" , I tend to forget it soon(after a week or so). I remember recursive algorithms more than iterative.

How to remember programs/algorithms ?
Should I use some other strategy to remember algorithms and stuff ?
What programmers usually eat to keep their brain and eyes healthy ?

I have gained weight , eyesight got weaker and feel lazy all the time.
Most of the time , I am working but still my productivity is too low.
I need some serious advice. I want to become a good engineer but might end up in some other profession because of such things.
Last edited on
Sorry I can't really help with the memory thing, I'm 25 yrs old and I still get greater then and less then mixed up (but oddly enough never the I\O stream operators). As for your other questions though:

How to remember programs/algorithms?

By documenting your code and literally NEVER DELETING ANYTHING!!! Even if it's some oddly specific custom header file that you wrote for one oddly specific client and you haven't looked at in years, throw it in a tarball and stash it away somewhere. Data storage is cheap, data recovery is not. Also work on writing modular code so that you won't have to remember, just copy paste and if you're really that interested read the comments you wrote in it.