• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Which language to start with Web Program

Which language to start with Web Programming?

Pages: 12
I have been learning C++ for 2 years now, i want to learn web programming..
which language should i start with?
i know very basics of PHP, do you think i should learn JAVA?
please i have very little knowledge about web programming and i would like to increase it
Regards
web programming is a vast topic, do you mean server programming, web page programming, app programming?
I'd say every web programmer should, as a bare minimum, have strong knowledge of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, some flavor of SQL, XML and Ajax.
closed account (1yR4jE8b)
In addition to everything ascii has listed, it wouldn't hurt to learn some Ruby/Rails and Python/Django.
If you mean server side, then:
Tiny sites: PHP
Medium sites: Python, Ruby, Scala
Big sites: Java, Scala
Last edited on
Try node.js. I don't know how good it is for real web development, but it sure is easy & fun to play around with.
closed account (o3hC5Di1)
@rapidcoder - Why would you only recommend php for tiny websites?

If performance is an issue, facebook has published the HipHop project which compiles php into C++ code for faster runtimes. The now native APC in php also makes quite a difference.
Not running PHP as an apache module also makes quite a difference in the server load.

Just curious if there is anything else you're basing that statement on which I'm not aware of.

All the best,
NwN
PHP has excellent cheap hosting support. If you need to create a simple website with a few dynamic elements, PHP is also the easiest one to start with, and perfectly sufficient. Using a full MVC framework for such a thing is an overkill - it would take more time to setup than real coding.
closed account (o3hC5Di1)
I'm afraid I don't quite follow you - sorry.
Do you mean to say that PHP is not efficient for large projects because you would feel obliged to use an existing MVC framework?