Next Lang to learn?

Pages: 12
I have about 2 years experience with C++ and know JAVA a lil bit. I want to be the person who can do just about ANYTHING on the computer. I am also 15 so i want something that will benefit me later(i plan to be a software engineer). Do i need to go web development way or learn something like python? I don't really know(i do some opengl and sfml for games on c++ so thats outta the way)....really i want it to be so that when i goto college i can be lazy:)
Try one of: Haskell, OCaml, Scheme.

OCaml is probably the easiest of the three to pick up if you've only ever used imperative languages. I haven't looked at it too deeply, so I can't say much about it. The one thing I've heard that might be noteworthy is that its compiler tends to generate quite fast code for a functional language. It supposedly rivals C in some cases.

Haskell is the weird one but also (IMO) the most interesting one. Like OCaml, it's statically typed and uses type inference to forgo type declarations. Unlike OCaml, it's purely functional and uses lazy evaluation. The latter allows such things as infinitely large data structures that are constructed as needed.

Scheme is a dialect of Lisp, the archetype of functional languages. Unlike OCaml and Haskell, it's dynamically typed (which I personally don't care much for). One interesting aspect of Lisp is that it lets you treat data as code and code as data, so such things as self-modifying code is relatively easy to do in Lisp.
closed account (z05DSL3A)
supperpiccle wrote:
I want to be the person who can do just about ANYTHING on the computer.
I would worry less about what new language you should learn. You should be guided by the subject you are learning in the choice of your tools and not the other way around.

Try one of: Haskell, OCaml, Scheme.

These are very interesting languages, but mostly academic and with little use in industry.