Advice for a College Kid

Pages: 12
Good afternoon, everyone.

Firstly, I joined cplusplus.com because the members here are amazing. I've read stuff from here for years, but I finally joined today. I'm saying that to say I've earned respect from the members here. Many people here really know what they are talking about, and are willing to really help others without throwing beginners out the window. You all really help programmers to get better.

That said, I am a college student that needs some advice, both general and specific, from the members from the site's community.

1. I am working on a BS degree in MIS (later to get a Masters) because our Computer Science program is horrific. If I want to program (or even lead a team of programmers), am I going down the wrong path?

2. One thing I have learned is my teachers DO NOT prepare programmers for the real world. Windows is the only operating system that exists to my college. I correct the teachers' homework examples because they are horribly written and often wrong. I'm in a 400 level class and we are just now learning classes (last week was for loops)! What could I do to really advance myself? I already work with a few open source projects, and I pretty much look for every opportunity I can to make a new program that is actually useful. What are your other suggestions?

3. I want a good resume. Who doesn't? What could I learn/do that really sets me apart from the rest? For example, some coders I feel are the best in the world have websites with their resume on it with links to projects they have worked on. Any other ideas?

4. Should I really expect a great job off the bat, or should I be prepared to start at ground level. I do have plenty of good work experience for my age, but I know that's not all I need...

I am not lazy, and I would be more than willing to work hard to do whatever would make me the best. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to everyone in advance