im thinkng of studying computer science next year, do you think i would benefit from installing linux

Pages: 123
to get into uni as a mature student i simply have to prove that theres no need to do an access course (prove that im already at 'A level' understanding) so maybe if i installed linux and learned to mess with unix it would be a great boon at the interview?

is their any fun stuff i could do with c++/net??

still got to understand the linkers better though first i guess
Last edited on
I don't know if it would help you prove you don't need the access course, but it will make you a better programmer and a more competent PC user.
then it is done, once i understand linker settings that is
closed account (z05DSL3A)
Take a look at a Raspberry Pi. Nice bit a kit for 'playing' with.

[edit] http://www.raspberrypi.org/ [/edit]

Just don't order it from RS, Farnell will get it to you a lot quicker.
Last edited on
K sounds tasty
David Braben of "rollercoaster tycoon fame"? he made 'elite' on the amiga didnt he? hes David Braben of 'highly inovative programmer/buisnessman' fame if you ask me.

Hes a hero of mine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=fvwp&v=JWCzwU9_g3E&NR=1

WOW i dont even have to install linux, i can get one of those cute lil fellas and a tiny screen and download codeblocks onto that, thanks for that guys im gonna buy one ASAP

will send you all xmas cards this year thas fer sure cheers mr grey wolf i appreciate that XD

(i love a good excuse to buy myself a toy)
Last edited on
The great thing about that is its FOR learning :D
Take a look at a Raspberry Pi. Nice bit a kit for 'playing' with.

I can't believe I've never heard of that before. Oh I am going to have so much fun!
yeah grey wolf let us in on a great thing, know any thing else equally as exiting?

i wonder how many kids actually own this thing, even though its totaly for playing with
Last edited on