Help with finding a beginner math book.

Pages: 12
closed account (3qX21hU5)
So, I'm going to be blunt here. I suck at math, and I'm starting to realize how much I need a more advance level of math understanding then I have now to program effectively. So does anyone have any good suggestions on where to start? I would label myself as a complete beginner.

Here are a few books I have been looking at buying.

1 - Maran Illustrated Effortless Algebra

2 - Practical Algebra: A Self-Teaching Guide, Second Edition

Should I start with Algebra or start somewhere else? I have very low understanding of algebra (Had to dropout of high school because of certain circumstances). So any advice on good books , or where to start would be a great help. Thanks in advance
Not a book but try Khan Academy http://www.khanacademy.org/ they have practice problems and videos for everything from telling time to differential calculus (they have videos for integral calculus but not practice problems).
Last edited on
closed account (ETAkoG1T)
I don't know what level of math you are compared to me but I am 14(years) and found that algebra self teaching guide looked nice. I actually just bought the book myself, If you want I can give you an update when I have read some of it. Allthough I do consider myself a bit over average in math for my age.
Last edited on
someones lending me a math book, its sposed to be a level, let you know what it is when i get it
If you're a complete beginner, then unfortunately you kind of have to go get proficient with algebra as it's used in almost every other field of math. Algebra is so painfully boring though -_- I always hated algebra class.
Algebra is so painfully boring though -_- I always hated algebra class.
Sacrilege.
Sacrilege.

It's the truth. Nothing cool ever happens in algebra. It's all about the calculus
closed account (ETAkoG1T)
I am 10% in algebra practical guide and is pretty fun so far, not too confusing either.