When did you start learning c++?

Pages: 123
closed account (ETAkoG1T)
When did you start learning c++? How old are you now? What have you done to reach were you are today?

Please share your story!
Last edited on
Example
I started when I was 12, I am now 14. I have read c++ primer plus and watched some youtube tutorials.
14, 18, I used the tutorial on this site and cross-referenced it with one or two others. IMO there's never a point where you finish learning to program, even in a single language, so I'm still learning, but now I'm learning by doing rather than reading.
I started in high school, but didn't really get serious with it until about 2 years ago.

I did a lot of programming and reading. C++ Primer was my main book, though I quickly got tired of the pacing of the book and just used it as a reference manual and went to programming on my own. Best thing to do for learning is just to find something that is way out of your comfort zone, and do it. Even if you completely fail in doing whatever it is, you'll learn so much from the process.
About 5.
My old man's a software dev, and I liked to learn.
closed account (zb0S216C)
Filiprei wrote:
"When did you start learning c++? How old are you now?"

I began learning around the age of 17 and I'm 21 now.

Filiprei wrote:
"What have you done to reach were you are today?"

I've been implementing my own custom containers, allocators and general data structures; something I would recommend doing if you don't have a project and you want to get your hands dirty. Also, I've been trying to implement this and that so that it's as efficient as possible -- I'm sure that you already know I'm an efficiency madman.