• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What are the biggest mistakes self taugh

What are the biggest mistakes self taught programmers make?

Pages: 12
I will have to attend some kind of interview to get into uni; so in order to avoid being tricked into doing an unnecessary foundation year i will have to chat to the course director, i will tell him im self taught to a certain point and show him my work.

He will most likely judge my ability to learn over my experience,as they teach you everything as if you didn't already know it anyway.
so i was kind of wondering what bad practice self taught programmers commonly continue with for many years
Last edited on
Honestly, I believe it's best if you supply code for a program with no more than 200 lines to us and let us critique you. You'd be surprised at the kinds of things that have become known as bad practices when the entire time you thought it was good.

Obviously a small program like this isn't going to reveal everything, but at the same time, you will be showing us a good portion of your preferences, naming schemes, etc.

Some of the biggest bad practices are just doing things that aren't quite standard, getting lazy because it's easier and forgetting how to do it the proper way, bad naming of variables, globals, too much whitespace, too little whiespace, poor indentation, inconsistent indentation, inconsistent whitespacing, etc.

To combat the last 5, I use AStyle and it works wonders, especially when copying other's code.
so in order to avoid being tricked into doing an unnecessary foundation year

Hubris is a pretty common problem amongst self-taught programmers.
I find almost the opposite to be true. But then again, I don't know many in the real world. But most of the users here seem pretty humble. But, then again, maybe you guys just drove away the arrogant ones.