What are the biggest mistakes self taught programmers make?

Pages: 12
A big mistake is to think that you know everything. There WILL always be something to learn therefore you do not know everything. I taught myself most of my knowledge about programming but I didn't know much about computer architecture or higher level maths. I have some advice, pay attention in math class and read wikipedia ALOT read on discrete math calculus and computer architecture (especially) while its early, it will put you in a good position to succeed. One more advice, don't fall into the trap of theory/learning and unproductivity, get out there and make your own shit.

This is currently what I'm doing, in the beginning stages of planning although I have some concrete code to drive me forward. Ok ok last thing of advice make sure the classes that you take are something that you think is useful. A lot of universities have a general education requirement, make sure that within this part of mandatory learning that you get something that will get your brain thinking or stimulated.
Book learning isn't enough the greatest minds had to find a way do do what they want to do, learn through doing.
I just bought the "coding academy" magazine, something in it made me click...i had better learn more high level maths before mt interview, it seems the key to efficient solutions.
What are the biggest mistakes self taught programmers make?

One of the first things I learned in the Navy was that a college degree can turn out some of the dumbest officers you can imagine.

If I was hiring computer programmers, I would hire 10 self motivitated self taught programmers for every college degree one, assuming they were at the same skill level.

The college guy would probably be in charge of spreadsheets or something trivial that wouldn't get in the way of the ones doing the real work.

Someone who learned C++ because they wanted to, is worth 50 college degrees, maybe more.