Programming is just bit manipulation.

No matter how complex, how large, how many people worked on it, any program is just simply manipulating bits. Turn some on, turn others off. How do you all feel about this?
Isn't it the most incredible thing ever? The fact that we can represent so much with so little. This is why programming is so cool to me. It's a microcosm of all the important things in the world (mainly logic and reason).
Technology is amazing.
If you want to go deeper than that you could talk about how programming is just transistor manipulation, and then semi-conductor manipulation, and then atom manipulation. So really, we're all particle physicists.
Isn't it the most incredible thing ever?

It really is, even to this day I still can't fully wrap my head around it.

programming is just transistor manipulation, and then semi-conductor manipulation, and then atom manipulation. So really, we're all particle physicists.

I stopped at the bit level because as a programmer I'd say this is really the "deepest" we ever get. Although I may start calling myself a particle physicist :D Ha
What I myself find most amazing is the connection between syntax and semantics. Though, of curse, this is not unique to programming.

@ResidentBiscuit
Where does "just" come form? Likewise you could say that all things are "just" bundles of particles and etc. Stating something with "just" does not make it any less complex.

@Thumper
First, it's not "technology" that's amazing, it's "math". Or rather "world" (as a superset of math). Computation is entirely possible without technology. Technology only gives efficiency.
Second, why would you say that logic and reason are important? Important to whom? I'd say the fair answer is "occasionally to most people" which isn't very much.
I'm sorry if I'm derailing the thread :)
@hamsterman
Speaking of semantics... Lol.
I chose the wrong words to express that exact thought. It won't happen again.