• Forum
  • Lounge
  • I heard a good way to practice is to fid

I heard a good way to practice is to fiddle with an open source game.

does anyone have any advice for absolute beginners on this? it sounds a little bit intimidating, will it be c++ and an api on top? will you have to have prior knowledge of many many things beginners dont quite have yet? are their any guides?

Am i ready or am i just going to download something really simple to fiddle with?

Is operation flashpoint the original one open source? how do i find out? (i kicked so much ass on the first one, i could take out an army single handedly, i bet my general-ing skills carry on to real life; just give me an small army and i will get you a banana republic somewhere)
Last edited on
Go on sourceforge.net or GitHub.com or somesuch and browse their projects, they're all open source. When you find something interesting, download it.
You know what i think they are all a bit too advanced, i need to find a real beginners one, ive browsed, maybe i should learn some sfml and find a project using that
closed account (3qX21hU5)
There are a lot of beginner projects in open sources. The overall project might seem really advanced but I would still recommend finding one you like (Even if you dont understand all of it) then contact the dev team and ask them what type of projects a beginner could do in it. Usually they are very welcoming to beginners and will help you find something to do it them. Then eventually you will start gaining the skills to work on the more advanced things in the project.
Oh cool, so you are an actual part of something, just who are the 'dev' team so i know who i will be talking to?
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Generally the dev team is the people who call the shots. They manage all parts of the project. Usually in opensource projects they are the original members that decide how the projects evolves and what features, art, ect gets in the program.