It's taking me ages to learn c++

how long did it take you to learn c++??
Its taking me ages to learn c++ ,it took me ages to reach arrays.
How long?
That's tough to answer, I'm sure most people would say they are still learning. Also depends on if you include the STL as part of the language or not.

I'd say I was at least familiar with the most common features of the language after ~6 months to a year of casual practice and reading. Probably another year after that to call myself at least capable in working with said features, and to this day I'm still learning (2.5 years of hobbyist/student experience) new things about the language.
closed account (D4S8vCM9)
As like real life, you are never finished with learning.

I work with C++ as professional for over 10 years and discover even now new things, like to easily make templates as friends. I didn't know that before and used compiler errors to work out how a template is specialized.
I had this question when I first started learning programming. Because I was doing it on my own, I had no idea of the amount of time I should spend studying to match what schools would do, and working full-time, I had to create myself some schedule to follow. So I did ton of research on just that and read countless forums on how long things are suppose to take…

In the end, here was the result; you never really stop learning, however it takes usually 10,000 hours to become an expert at anything. If you spend 1000 hours a year, then 10 years would be the golden number.