• Forum
  • Lounge
  • MS in Computer Science, Statement of Pur

MS in Computer Science, Statement of Purpose

Pages: 123
Hello everybody,

I would like to apply for a master's degree in computer science at NYU (part-time) and I was wondering what the best statement of purpose should look like.

I don't have a bachelor's degree in CS and I'm not a programmer.
I have taken programming courses in high school and throughout my higher education but I have never developed the knowledge to become a developer.

Now, I would like to study CS while I work full-time and I would like to know what successful applicants write in their statement of purpose essays?

To be more specific, one of the goals of this essay is to know what you want to do after graduation. Will it be a mistake to say that you want to build your own company?

I'm very interested in courses that have to do with social networks, media, search engines and user interface, and I have an idea for a company I want to build.

So,
should I say that I want to create this company or should I say that I want to be a software developer at Google or Apple... I actually don't but wouldn't mind lying :)

Thanks
I would think it's extremely unlikely you would be accepted into a masters program without an under grad degree in CS. I would also expect the number of applicants that will be accepted is going to be limited, so those with a background in CS would probably get those spots.
Last edited on
How does it answer my question?

I already spoke with them and they said they accept people with no CS background if they take 2 consecutive courses to cover the basics.

But, that wasn't my question at all :)
Fair enough, I can't really answer your question, I'm not up to grad school yet. But there are some example essays in this search