Third interview - programming test

Pages: 123
I applied to a jr. software developer position 2 weeks ago. I had a phone interview, an in person interview, and now they want me back for a programming test. What types of things can I expect to see on this test for a "learning position" jr. software development position. I'm solid on programming logic (loops arrays etc..). As for specific language knowledge I think they use Javascript, C++, and SQL Server but I already told them I have no experience with Javascript.

I hope it's just logic. I have made a few functional relational databases and worked with SQL Query language a bit in my PHP days (last month hehe). Anybody have any suggestions on what I should be focusing on or what will be on the "programming test"?
Last edited on
I just had an interview for a similar position. I interviewed with two different engineers who worked in two different vastly different areas. Anyways, I was asked things like:

Implement a binary search for a given set of sorted numbers
Show how a binary search tree would be represented for a string of letters
How would you design a chess game using OOP principles
What is the benefits of having classes in a given situation
Debug a method (mine dealt with string replacement)
Write a unit test
Find null pointer exceptions
Explain the difference between managed and unmanaged languages
Some database questions (I told them I knew nothing about them so they just moved on)
Insert a node into a linked list
It's going to be a long week..
None of this was really difficult. We can help you if you have any questions
Yeah. I'm having trouble understanding heap based vs stack based objects for classes. For example, why would you want to use heap vs stack for an object?

Calculator myCalc; // stack-based Calculator

Calculator* myCalc2; // heap-based Calculator