• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Making a program which understands Engli

Making a program which understands English

I'm trying to make a command line program which keeps recording what I type and answer questions whenever I ask them (questions will be detected by the user typing '?')

-->My name is Eklavya.
-->I am a programmer.
-->I make programs because I like programming.
-->What is my name?
	Your name is Eklavya.
-->What do I make?
	You make programs.
-->Why do I make programs?
	Because you like programming.
-->You are great. You are the best program ever.
-->What am I?
	You are a programmer.
-->What are you?
	I am the best program ever.

Do you people get it? This program will split a program about the verb and extract the subject and the object. It will then...(I haven't thought much about implementation yet)

What I need:
1. previous work (free to view, easy to understand) on this subject
2. a list of words, grouped by nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, etc.
3. good advice
4. Good keywords to search for

I'm currently trying to learn the English grammar.

If anyone has any knowledge on this topic, please share it.
Last edited on
You should learn Sentence Diagramming. It would help immensely if you knew how to diagram a sentence; you could write code that would do it automatically (though represent it in code form, a visual is just bonus points).

You're also setting yourself up for failure by choosing English. It is by far the most ludicrous language. Thankfully you won't need to deal with spelling rules; you can just use a database dictionary.
Yeeaa English is not going to be a fun language to do this in. So many random caveats you have to watch out for.
Gee, I thought we had a thread about this. English is as good a language as any, maybe better. It's just that they're all god awful, especially for this kind of thing.