Advice? :)

closed account (S3TkoG1T)
So, I'm currently fairly new to programming, & learning c++.

I'd like some insight from others as to how I should handle my challenges in coding c++. For instance, sometimes I get so overwhelmed & intimidated I step back a little & avoid my practice. Does anybody feel the same? If not, any ideas as how I can overcome it? Become better at programming using c++ & become more confident?
Just be patient. It takes a couple years for that feeling to go away. Just know that you will understand it fine eventually and don't stress on the time it takes you. Enjoy the ride :)
closed account (z05DSL3A)
The best advice I can give; when you hit a problem that you can't get your head around, stop and walk away from the problem. By this I mean go and make a drink, or take a short walk, etc. Anything that will engage your brain in a more menial task.
True story. I often think of solutions to big problems on lunch break, or while looking out the window.
The way I learned was by finding small tasks or jobs that I wanted a program to do, looking up code and definitions online (usually cut and paste), then edit them to see what happens, of course forming a hypothesis first. After a while of doing this I began to build a better understanding of what is going on as well as a bunch of somewhat re-usable codes snippets.

I usually figure out problems when I lay down to go to sleep at night.
I can't tell you how many times I've had a eureka moment while I'm just out eating. Then my girlfriend calls me a nerd :(

The moral of the story is just get your mind off the problem and chances are you'll actually think of a solution.
closed account (D80DSL3A)
Then my girlfriend calls me a nerd :(

Relax. If you have a girlfriend then you can't be a nerd.
fun2code wrote:
Relax. If you have a girlfriend then you can't be a nerd.

Hey, nerd girls are real and need love too! I'd know, I found one. :3
nerd girls are real

Liar.
closed account (D80DSL3A)