• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Would you consider me Advanced Programme

Would you consider me Advanced Programmer

Pages: 12
closed account (ozUkoG1T)
Hi,

I have no idea on what a advanced programmer is better than every one else. Also I am interested in others opinion do you think I am a advanced programmer or a Intermediate or Novice Programmer (Hopefully not Novice) I also Do not understand why companies look at experience rather than ability since I am 13 but I know more than someone with say 3 years experience in C++. So what is the problem of comapnies picking the experienced but not the intellligent one.
I have no idea on what a advanced programmer is better than every one else.

If you have to ask whether or not you are advanced, then you are not advanced. This is true not only of programming, but of everything in life.

One of my favorite quotes is "Education is the progressive realization of our ignorance". The more you learn, the more you realize you don't know. Those who think they know everything actually know very little, and those that really know a lot are often overwhelmed because they can see how much is still unknown to them.

I also Do not understand why companies look at experience rather than ability

Experience is the best teacher. Unless you're some kind of crazy savant (read: you're not), the only way to learn to program is to actually do it. Roughly... the longer you do it, the better you get.

That doesn't mean that someone is guaranteed to be a better programmer just because they've been programming longer... but it does tend to follow that pattern.

Again this is true not only of programming, but of everything in life.

since I am 13 but I know more than someone with say 3 years experience in C++.

No offense, but if you're 13 you don't know jack shit. Sorry, but it's true. You may know more than other 13 year olds, and maybe even more than some 17 year olds but that means very little to anyone over 20.