Programming jobs for a young teen - Are they out there?

Pages: 12
Hello everyone. My name is Jake, and I am a 14 year old programmer.

Like most teenagers (and people of all ages for that matter), I have a need for a small income. I have been programming C++ for about two and a half years, and I would consider myself an intermediate level programmer. I am also familiar with Java and PHP, but C++ is my forte. I was wondering where I could find a small programming-related job for myself. I'm talking about a job that didn't necessarily pay much--maybe enough to cover the price of a smartphone plan (around $20-$40/month), but a job that would only require an hour or two of work per day, as I attend school.

If there are any jobs out there like this, please let me know!

Thanks for taking the time to read this! -Jake
closed account (3qX21hU5)
Gezz what is up with all the "Can I get a job at a young age?" and other related posts these past few weeks lol. I swear there have been like 5 of these so far. We are being invaded by young people!!! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!!!

As for a programming job I highly doubt you would be able to find one (Not to try and put you down or anything) that would be paid. The only option I can think of is maybe tutoring for a minor income. Though you would have to know the language you are tutoring pretty well, and to be blunt a lot of people will not want to be tutored by a 14 year old.

That is bout the only paid programming job for you at that age. Normal projects will require more of your time and they won't look at someone that young most likely.

My advice would be to concentrate on building up your portfolio instead of finding a job. Do opensource projects and make your own projects so you can have that experience when you do get older and are looking for a job in the industry. Because at your age you are very limited in paid job opportunities.
You could try some freelancing sites.
http://www.vworker.com/
http://www.elance.com/