acceptance of C standards

Pages: 12
I imagine some people here care about C, and I am curious about the preferred standards: do you latch on every new bit of C11 that's supported by the latest alpha build of your favorite compiler? Do you just use C99? Do you (and why??) stick with C89?

Although I'm a C++ developer, I get to write C code once in a while, and when compiling C sources, our development environment is set up to use C99 across all platforms (different hardware, different C compiler vendors). It has been that way on my previous job, and the job before that, all the way back to about early 2002, which is when I last had to use C89 (and I don't look back, C99 is so much saner!)

This forum seems to be primarily hobbyists and students, I would imagine that having control of what to use, or learning something to use in future, people would be at C99 by default, C11 where possible, so I'm curious to hear a few opinions.
I use C99. I fell in love with VLA's, variadic macros and compound literals.

I have no interest in C11, because I don't see the improvement.
It doesn't add anything useful. Waste of a revision IMO. The only interesting things are optional and therefore won't be supported by anything ever anyway.
I actually don't like C. The issue is that just about all interfaces are based around it and if you want compatibility you're forced to use it. It is definitely a great language, but it feels like it is a huge limiting factor.

I see a lot of C practices that seem to be working around the fact that C is not C++, whereas in C++ compilers can often simplify things to be more efficient than C because of abstraction layers and inlining, but at the same time you have to use a C interface or things won't work.

I don't really know which standard I prefer - mainly because I don't use C :(
closed account (z05DSL3A)
The main thing that I see with C11 is fixing what got broke in C99, thats got to be a good thing.