What is the hardest thing in C++?

Pages: 1234
closed account (LN7oGNh0)
Hello, I was wondering how hard programming can really get. Im not trying to get ahead of myself, Im still learning stuff at my level, but I was thinking about it and it was very intriguing. This just doesnt have to be restricted to c++, but just in general programming.

thanks

In my opinion it's TMP -- template metaprogramming -- and it's the reason why I'll never dare call myself a C++ expert -- because I made a conscious decision not to ever delve into that madness.
sticking at it
In general programming I would say 3D game; high-end graphics and physics.
Video games, operating systems and compilers are probably generally the most difficult projects you can undertake, but it depends on the scale. A compiler for a language like Brainf*ck is easier than a simplistic operating system is easier than a modern blockbuster video game.
Definitely template metaprogramming. I have a difficult time wrapping my head around it, mainly because I still am not fully aware of all the ins and outs of template syntax and specialization rules. Reading existing solutions is pretty easy, but trying to create my own is pretty hard.

Video games, operating systems and compilers are probably generally the most difficult projects you can undertake

Database systems are much harder than every of the above in many aspects: they are distributed, parallel, need not only scale vertical but also horizontal, they need to be extremely fast, they deal with much larger amounts of data any single OS or video game does, and they need to be fault tolerant. A crash of a video game, OS or a compiler is *nothing* compared to a crash of a database system that brings your whole business down (and loses precious data).
I thought that Java was preferred over C++ for that kind of stuff though, was I mislead?
@rapidcoder
Good point, although a DBMS of that scale isn't likely going to be developed by a single person