Lounge - June 2017

Anyone (embedded systems programmers) prefer integrated graphics while programming verse a dedigated GPU?

Hi, I am trying to decide which I prefer. I like the way a dedicated GPU looks more than integrated graphics on HD530 I have on my I7. How ever I would like ...
[no replies]
Congratulations to TheIdeasMan!

Congratulations, TheIdeasMan! Best of luck with the new job :) (as announced in http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/217367/3/ in case anyone thinks I'm re...
[3 replies] Last: Thank you all, that is very kind :+) It's going to be a fun job for t... (by TheIdeasMan)
spi 74hc595 Cascading atmega64

I have a problem with displaying 40 values displayed on the 7 segment (40 components 74hc595 cascade link. enter image description here Here is the date shee...
[no replies]
by Rodev
How do you test codes and/or create new functions?

I am curious to know how experienced programmers code their projects. For example: When I am coding (I'm a CS student), I use an IDE (Xcode) and when I ne...
[9 replies] Last: To add another point, I think it's incredibly useful if you can design... (by TheBeardedQuack)
by Enot02
BSOD in VB

Hello. I decided to play Black Mirror 1, and because I am running Windows 10, I set up a virtual machine in VirtualBox with Windows XP. When I ran the game, I r...
[3 replies] Last: Did you verify the checksum of your copy of Windows XP? Did you try ... (by mbozzi)
unfamiliar syntax

How is it that the leading dot on the element names is valid? (This is from a Linux device driver.) static struct file_operations fops = { .open = dev_open...
[2 replies] Last: Ah...very good. Thanks, helios. (by mzimmers)
NE555N vs NE555P

Is there any difference between NE555N and NE555P integrated circuits? The pinout is the same? Here is the datesheet of NE555N and NE555P NE555N :http://...
[1 reply] : Check the datasheet for each chip. One is a general purpose timer, the... (by closed account E0p9LyTq)