Lounge - November 2014

What is it with online programmers and a hate for "Re-inventing the wheel"?

I'm sure we have all been told this, at some point in our programming journey that we "are trying to re-invent the wheel, just use the standard/LibX/LibY ..." ...
[18 replies] Last: Do you think Bjarne was told "Don't make another language, we already... (by kbw)
What is the difference between C++, C and C#? (1,2)

So far the only programming language that i know is C++, but I have no prior experience with C or C#. Are these extensions of C++? Does C# enable you to make p...
[21 replies] Last: So "objective" basically means "Object-oriented" right? Wrong. It's... (by kbw)
RAPTOR

I know this forum is for C++ codes, but does anyone know how to do RAPTOR flowcharts? I need to write a program that inputs from the user the number of hours wo...
[4 replies] Last: Thanks. I already looked at that site. My teacher is Elizabeth Drake l... (by lordzedd)
SDL (1,2,3)

I was getting back to c++ programming when i saw SFML 2.2 was about to be released. Instead of going through the hassle of updating it again when it came out ( ...
[50 replies] Last: QT Creator does not ship with a debugger. Debuggers are part of toolk... (by S G H)
IPv4 and IPv6

Does anyone know the real purpose of this ?
[4 replies] Last: http://test-ipv6.com/ (by LB)
by Zaron
C++ Chat

Is there a place to get one on one help with C++ like a chat room? I am in graduate school and I am new to C++. I need help in writing a code. I believe that it...
[3 replies] Last: both are good. the c++ skype group is called c++ benders and i believe... (by Little Bobby Tables)
by Manga
Any math wizards out there?

Here is the formula I was given by a coworker. He asked if I could solve for x. y = tan(x) - (x*PI/180) I have failed. Can anyone else solve this? This ...
[8 replies] Last: This is kind of old, so please let me know if you are no longer intere... (by tition)
Does anyone know why??