Books for getting started

Hello

I just wanted to know which book is a must have for a total beginner, who doesn't even know the 'L' of LINUX? The book should teach about the LINUX environment, technical terms, and about the kernel and the shell at a basic to intermediate level.

Thanks
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
personally i just dived in and it helped me to learn a lot. i just explored the many directories, and did some c programming. i messed around with the file system, tested out limits of the shell at the terminall, wrote shell scripts to see what i could get away with, looked up cool packages to get, and spent a lot of time in the ubuntu software system
closed account (z05DSL3A)
The Linux Programming Interface: A Linux and UNIX System Programming Handbook
by Michael Kerrisk
Thank you guys.

@DTSCode

I also did the same as you-learnt C++, got interested in programming, came to know about LINUX/UNIX, installed Ubuntu hapazardly, messed my system, which resulted in serious harddisk problems(had to change my HDD).
I learnt a lot from this book:
Beginning Linux Programming, Neil Mathews and Richard Stones
closed account (EwCjE3v7)
Well I just dual-booted and watch videos..read articles on how to install..and I learned commands and learned new stuff..u should try out ubuntu s it is the most user friendly one...amd than u can try Kali..which im gonna try next...also Mint 15 is even more simple one....try that one to if u want faster and simpler....

How did u get the hdd crash... What were u installing...also watch and read arrivals.
Try manjaro it is much better then Ubuntu an mint faster and stable -installs better also
Ill check it..I haven't heard of it
My favorite was the C++ all in one reference for dummies and another called C++ Programming by mike mcgrath
Beginning Linux programming is pretty solid.
@CaptainBlastXD