upgrade stripped-down target industrial PC to instrumental for C++ console development

I need to write a console application on a i386 machine with debian 2.2 to work with some programms installed on it. For that purpose I want to have C++ development tools there.
But the OS on the computer has been stripped down ( and is missing any components necessary for "sudo apt-get install build-essential" - which is what I want to do.
What (and how) do I need to install in order ot ensure presence of all the necessary tools?
I'm new to Linux and Debian. I don't know what to check for in which directories, how to add whatever is needed etc.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Worst case is you'll need to install the gcc compiler source and it's dependencies and compile the compiler with C++ support.

But the OS on the computer has been stripped down ( and is missing any components necessary for "sudo apt-get install build-essential" - which is what I want to do.

So what parts are missing? Is sudo installed? Is apt-get installed? What error messages do you get when you try your apt-get command?

Sorry, I've been out of town for 2 days.
When I type apt-get
apt-get: command not found
When I type sudo
sudo: command not found
So, there's a lot of necessary parts that are missing, but is doesn't seem productive to try commands one by one in order to find out what's missing, or maybe I'm wrong and it's the only way?
I was hoping that there was a known (finite and comprehensible) list of distribution components that would definitely contain everything required for the development tools installation, and could be just added somehow.
If that's true, I'd appreciate any help from a person with suitable expertise on what and how should be done.
Last edited on
This is the version of Linux you are running ? It is 14 years old, why do you need it ?

https://www.debian.org/releases/potato/