Restarting a game in OpenGL?

I am working on a project for my c++ class, and we are asked to do some extra work on our moon lander clone. I would like to add an option to restart, or reset, the game when the user loses or wins the game. I understand that, as a student, I really need to do this on my own, but in my defence, they have not taught us anything about OpenGL. Any help is appreciated, even if I am redirected to another source for a hint.

The entire game is made up of classes, as this is an object-oriented college class I am taking.
I'm a little lost, you have a key while loop where you take user input and react to it right?

I'd have to know the general layout of your files and classes, but this should be a simple if statement with a pop-up window when the player loses... What are you using to open the window in the first place? (SDL2, SFML, QT, GTK, etc?) I'm not sure about SFML or Alegro, but SDL2, QT, and GTK have the capability to open up secondary windows in which you could ask for user input. This should be one instance where you don't have to program using openGL.

Last edited on
Thank you so much for replying! Sorry about the lack of information, but I suppose you are right! This is the provided code for the method that handles user input (I think):

void Game :: handleInput(const Interface & ui)
{
if (lander.isAlive() && !lander.isLanded())
{

if (ui.isDown())
{
lander.applyThrustBottom();
}

if (ui.isLeft())
{
lander.applyThrustLeft();
}

if (ui.isRight())
{
lander.applyThrustRight();
}
}
}

I suppose it would just be a matter of saying if the lander is dead or landed, if the user presses space, restart the game. My problem is, what would I do? Just call main()?
I've heard of somebody recursively calling main before, but I don't know what the results of that would be. Don't do that, the way I heard about it was a teacher mentioning it like it was a joke...