Linux executables and so files?

So, I'm totally self-taught with basically everything computers. I've switched from Windows to Linux less than a year ago and I'm in love with it. Now, I'm having some trouble understanding how to link a .so file to my executable.

so.cpp
#include<cstdio>

void sexy_talk(){
printf("Insert some magical dirty talk here. ");
}

main.cpp
#include <dlfcn.h>

int main(){

void *Handlr = dlopen("exec.so",RTLD_LAZY);
void *func = dlsym(Handlr,"dirty_talk");

func();
}

Of course, this whole world of Linux executables is new to me, even the ELF format. It seems to me, but I'm not too sure, why it seems like the so file is smaller than if I were to compile a standard executable, and why the .o file is so tiny it's almost cute. Why is it so small?? What is the .so carrying that the .o isn't?

Also, please don't call .so libraries, since it's a synonym of a thousand other computing terms. It confuses me.

Also, forgot to mention, what's wrong with my code? It says "main.cpp:8:15: error: ‘func’ cannot be used as a function", though I'm told that func becomes a function.
Last edited on
The ELFormat is a rather comprehensive format that can contain a rather large list of different types of binaries.

EDIT: It seems the more savvy people with the ELF format call what I called object file below, relocatable file. I've adjusted it below but most people are still going to call them object files. In addition, object files in strict terms can mean all three of the main binary forms (executable, shared object, and relocatable).

".so" extension generally refers to shared object. ".o" extension just means relocatable file.