Visual Studio Code

Hello everyone,

I would like to start c++ coding with linux now. I enjoy both operating systems windows and linux, but I really want to start using seeing that I went through the trouble of installing it on my laptop. Anyways, I install Visual Studio Code on linux, my question is when you start it, what next? I did the the install c++, but you know how regular IDEs they have a template to start from, does visual studio code have the same template? Thanks in advance.
I've been a developer a long while, and wrote for UNIX and Linux for decades.

I must admit the link @Furry Guy is new to me, and I may try it myself.

I'm a Visual Studio fan, but not so much of Visual Studio Code. I've been told it can be equipped with plugins to function as a full IDE, and I've tried it, but I find the instructions vague and could not get the results I wanted.

Visual Studio has a pluging for VisualGDB which can do all that I want, but only if I'm willing to write and manage the project in Windows, connecting to Linux for debugging (which would be fine), but the product is nearly as expensive as buying an IDE.

I tried Eclipse. I have used Eclipse on Linux before, way, way, back, largely for Android development before Android Studio existed. It worked, though I had to use ARM's debugger (which was superior to GDB).

About a month ago I tried to launch a Linux development project and tried a bunch of the "best IDE's for Linux development" from a link.

Eclipse was just too flaky. I finally got it to run, had to reboot for something after a few hours, after which Eclipse wouldn't launch (gave an error).

I had rejected KDevelop. It wasn't on most of the "best IDE" lists for some reason.

It works. It isn't perfect, but it's fairly good. I can't quite figure out a straight forward way to build applications with CLang/LLVM 8, but I did easily upgrade to GCC 9.1, and so far that seems to be a fairly good combination.