Good IDE for C++ on Linux

Pages: 12
Sorry if I'm beating a dead horse here. But a search of this forum for "ide" came up empty.

I'm an experienced developer when it comes to numerical or computational code. Not so experienced with application development. Also, I'm quite comfortable with good ol' Unix, but I've never used any of the Linux graphical desktop environments. Currently, I use Visual C++ 2008 in Windows to develop code that is built and deployed on Linux systems (Ubuntu, I believe).

Reading another thread, I saw several recommendations for Fedora and a couple for Ubuntu as development platforms. So the question is ... What's the best IDE for such platforms?

I've spent some time with Eclipse/CDT (2-3 years ago) and SlickEdit (1-2 years ago), but neither came close to Visual C++. Maybe they've made progress since then. I'm curious about KDevelop and Ajunta.

I know there are grognards who will insist that emacs is the only way to go, but I'm not very interested in that route.

Thanks.
Last edited on
I like Code::Blocks, it's cross platform and it can use any compiler you choose

Article on the subject: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/7263/
My preferred IDE for C++ is also Code::Blocks.
It runs on Windows, Linux systems and even on Macs.
I've been using Visual Studio for many years and recently started doing Linux dev and have been using the latest Eclipse Galileo, which I like and it seems pretty similar to VS.
i found that kdevelop(and qt-creator) have necessary features. Also vim can autocomplete code and highlight syntax.
Looks like I should take another look at Eclipse. I remember encountering Code::Blocks years ago when surveying the Linux IDE landscape. At that time, it didn't look very complete. But again, a lot can happen in 3 years. Sounds like I should look at it again.

Thanks for the comments.
The latest version Code::Blocks is excellent; I've heard good things about Netbeans too but I don't like it.