GNU Emac C++ Programming??

Pages: 12
If it is possible?

Can anybody give me a quick tutorial on how to write, compile, and run code using a GNU Emacs. I'm trying to get into Linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
AppDevTrainee
It's very possible, but if you're just starting out, it might be easier to just use emacs to write your source code and manually use gcc to do the compiling. emacs isn't a C++ compiler itself; when used as an IDE it usually makes use of whichever compiler you suggest.

It's my text editor of choice for coding, and I just use it to write the source and use makefiles to compile it all.

As for running the code; again, just type the program name at the command line.
okay thank you :) next question, because im just starting out on linux. Do i just download a gcc compiler or does Linux have some kind of embedded compiler or something?
Linux does not inherently come with a compiler. However, people generally don't get Linux so much as one of the distributions thereof; for example, Ubuntu or Fedora. Many distributions come with a compiler, usually the GCC, already bundled.

PPick your distribution of choice and install it. If it doesn't come with GCC, getting it is generally astonishingly easy. For example, on ubuntu, it's installed with the command

apt-get install gcc

at the command line, or by opening the Synaptic package manager and ticking the box next to GCC. It's astonishingly easy.
Last edited on
thank you. yeah im about to dual boot my laptop with linux, and im thinking about getting Mint on it. Or mayb Ubuntu, butwhen i do i will def follow those instructions to get myself started. any further advice??
Something that always confuse me is gcc is a C compiler, then g++ is a C++ compiler ? And both usually come bundled with Linux distribution correct ?