Problems with processing command-line arguments.

I'm a beginner to C++ and I'm trying to use if statements in a basic program to find out what command-line arguments were passed with the program. I have this:

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>

using namespace std;

//void basicHelp();
//void detailedHelp();

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
	if (argc < 2)
	{
		//cout << "\n\nPlease enter a valid option. Usage of this tool is as follows:";
		//basicHelp();
		cout << "\nYou used no parameters.\n";
		return 0;
	}
	if (argv[1] == (char*)"-h")
	{
		if (argv[2] == (char*)"-m")
		{
			//detailedHelp();
			cout << "\nYou used the parameters -h and -m.\n";
			return 0;
		}
		//basicHelp();
		cout << "\nYou only used the parameter -h.\n";
		return 0;
	}
	return 0;
}

All looked fine to me. The point was that if there were no additional arguments passed, "You used no parameters" would appear, and the other messages would appear if I used "-h", or if I used both "-h" and "-m" (in that order). But no, I get this:

main@bennun-ubuntu:~/Documents$ ./blah

You used no parameters.
main@bennun-ubuntu:~/Documents$ ./blah -h
main@bennun-ubuntu:~/Documents$ ./blah -h -m
main@bennun-ubuntu:~/Documents$

It doesn't see the other two parameters as "-h" and "-m". How can I make it do this? Is it a problem involving typecasting or something? I'm utterly confused.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
Don't use type casting unless you know exactly what you are doing. It looks like you have used the cast here to get rid of a warning. The compiler tried to tell you something was wrong but you didn't listen. The problem is that you can't compare c strings with ==, because that will just compare the pointers. To compare two c strings you use std::strcmp instead.