UNIX/Linux Programming - January 2013

by vijkrr
How mutex works?

F1() { lock(&A); dosomething() releaselock(&A); } F2() { lock(&A); dosomething(); releaselock(&A); } if Thread 1 is c...
[3 replies] Last: Let's make it look more like C++ F1() { lock<mutex> lk(A); d... (by Cubbi)
by KianS
Basic C++ Compiler for Mac (I don't mean a BASIC compiler)

Hi I'm Kian (probably the worst way to start a post) I am new to programming and need a simple c++ compiler. One not too advanced to make simple programs. Pl...
[4 replies] Last: Please don't comment with Xcode because I don't get it, if you do com... (by Lodger)
by Telion
Writing the ultimate makefile

I'm trying to write a makefile that, given a list of source and header files (or just *) and compilation flags, automatically determines the dependencies of eac...
[8 replies] Last: www.cmake.org -> CMake builds make files for you depending on argument... (by Zaita)
by elfico
Linux/Unix

hello everybody. pls can anyone tell me where I can get materials that would help me to learn unix/Linux? Thanks.
[6 replies] Last: You could always buy a Raspberry Pi computer for less than £30 learn ... (by ajh32)
shell in c++ with classes

I'm writing a Shell for my Operating Systems course. It should be written in C++ using classes. I have no idea how to start. How to describe for example "ls" c...
[1 reply] : The shell shouldn't have too many built in commands, ls especially. I... (by kbw)
Makefile/linker question

I have been googling around and either my google foo is weak today or there isn't a clear cut answer to my question out there. I've got a few libraries that ...
[4 replies] Last: $ make --just-print (by ne555)
using a vector and fstream

#include <iostream> #include <stdio.h> #include <vector> #include <fstream> using namespace std; int main() { vector<string> filenames; string file = "test...
[1 reply] : In C++98 (from 1998) the constructor for std::fstream accepts a con... (by Catfish3)