UNIX/Linux Programming - September 2013

Books for getting started

Hello I just wanted to know which book is a must have for a total beginner, who doesn't even know the 'L' of LINUX? The book should teach about the LINUX en...
[16 replies] Last: BTW, did you guys know that they are actually cheating us. Like HDD d... (by ngopza)
dump file cannot be restore

so here is how i gona backup my file using dump command # dump -f [databackup name] [path or file name] //example # dump -f databackup /root/assignm...
[no replies]
by axtyax
reading .csv file into 2d array

#include <iostream> #include <fstream> using namespace std; double data ; int count = 1; int bigcount = 1; int main() { ifstream file; file.o...
[3 replies] Last: Hmmm I'm not getting this error. I've just compiled in g++ in Linux. ... (by Stewbond)
how to add an existing image in SFML ?

i want to add this image http://www.google.com.pk/imgres?client=firefox-beta&hs=D2s&sa=X&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&biw=1366&bih=674&tbm=isch&tbnid=3ab4...
[9 replies] Last: SFML (Simple and Fast Multimedia Library) is a portable and easy-to-us... (by raybrown)
Native GUI Application

I have been told that I can not make a GUI natively using C++ in Xcode on OS X. But then, how are the libraries made to make the GUI? Like qt, openGL, wxWidge...
[4 replies] Last: Thank you, I'll have a look at it. (by closed account jwkNwA7f)
Ancillary File

What is ancillary file in UNIX file System . What is use of it
[1 reply] : From Google: [quote=google]an·cil·lar·y /ˈansəˌlerē/ Adjecti... (by closed account o3hC5Di1)
Spell check using pthreads in C

Hi I have a school project where we suppose to make a spell check using pthreads, it is suppose to have customer.h using linked list, will have 3 member fun...
[7 replies] Last: Hi there, I think the following will fix quite a few of those errors:... (by closed account o3hC5Di1)
Writing my own cat command