Very Basic Window Update

Hey, I'm having a problem with a program I'm writing. This is my first time using Windows API and I'm unable to get the Window to "repaint" itself. Here is my WindowProc() function. Thanks in advance for any help with my problem or general advice you may have!

LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hwnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
        static bool bRedraw = false;

// Message Interpretation
	switch (uMsg)
	{

// In the case that the window is closed
	case WM_DESTROY:
		PostQuitMessage(0);
		return 0;

// In the case that a key is pressed
        // This is where the problem is, I want to write out some text
        // (in this case WIN) when I hit enter while the window is in focus,
        // but when I do, nothing happens.
	case WM_KEYDOWN:
		switch (wParam)
		{
		// In the case which that key is enter
		case (VK_RETURN):
			bRedraw = true;
			SendMessage(hwnd, WM_PAINT, wParam, lParam);
			bRedraw = false;
			break;
		}
		return 0;

// In the case that the window is drawn
	case WM_PAINT:
		PAINTSTRUCT ps;
		HDC hdc = BeginPaint(hwnd, &ps);
		FillRect(hdc, &ps.rcPaint, (HBRUSH) (COLOR_WINDOW+1));
		TextOut(hdc, 10, 10, L"Prospect Number:", 16);
		TextOut(hdc, 10, 34, L"Delete Code:", 12);
		TextOut(hdc, 10, 58, L"Current Delete Code:", 20);
		if (bRedraw)
		{
			TextOut(hdc, 10, 82, L"WIN", 3);
		}
		EndPaint(hwnd, &ps);
		return 0;
	}
	return DefWindowProc(hwnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam);
}
Never send WM_PAINT messages.

To force a redraw, you mark part (or all) of your client area as "dirty" with InvalidateRect. This will trigger Windows to send appropriate WM_PAINT messages automatically.

LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hwnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
//        static bool bRedraw = false;  <-  get rid of this

//...
		case (VK_RETURN):
//			bRedraw = true;
//			SendMessage(hwnd, WM_PAINT, wParam, lParam);
//			bRedraw = false;
			InvalidateRect( hwnd, NULL, TRUE );  // invalidate the entire client, which