Is it possible to call CopyFile without locking the host?

I feel like I may have posted this here before, if I have then I am sorry but I didn't find it. Further more I would have made several drastic changes to this process since then.

So here's the scenario: I'm a SysAdmin, I want to be able to copy an arbitrary set of files to my end user systems as fast as I possibly can (the speed at which this is done serves no other purpose then to feed my ego BTW). So far my process takes what ever directory I feed it, creates a thread for each system in the predefined list (this will use our AD OU's soon) and copies the files from the target directory to the end user system recreating the directory structure. This works OK, the systems that are not reachable time out at roughly the same time, report their errors and exit their threads. The remaining threads queue up on their own and copy the files to their host system as those files become available. I've noticed through using Perfmon that each thread is reading the source files from the disk every time, this sucks. I'm about to research the idea of mapping the file(s) into memory and copying them to the end user systems from there. I'm posting here to see if anyone has any insight or experience doing this.

tl;dr: How could I copy a file from one source to multiple destinations?

Library used: WinAPI

closed account (G309216C)
Hi,

I would believe as a System Administrator,you do have the credentials for the users of your network. I also assume you can access the network users files. I will be taking the assumption as a reality and offer my solution to your problem.

You are making your application\software more complex than it should be. There are Native Windows API functions available for these type of concepts and problems.
First you must create a connection with the targets using WNetAddConnection2() function,
MSDN Documentation on WNetAddConnection2():