Any recommended Windows Programming books?

I am thinking about Windows Via C / C++ by Jeffrey Richter, and is that good for a total noob windows programmer? Are there any extremely good ones? The MSDN Library just doesn't do it for me. Thanks for any suggestions.
closed account (13bSLyTq)
Hi,

Your option is extremely good, in fact if you like reading e-books and hard-copy may I recommend Forgers Win32 book, its pretty basic in terms of UI development.

If you interested in rich winsock development may I suggest Network Programming For Microsoft Windows second edition by Anthony Jones & Jim Ohlund.

After these critical steps you could probably use you time learning specific APIs and topics which include DirectX and Malware research.

I strongly advise you not to e jump a ahead of your self as Windows API is pretty much complicated and difficult for a newbie which means jumping further than your learning curve could lead you to becoming a programmers who has no internal knowledge of reason why these happen.

Good Luck! I hope to see you soon here (in this section).
Last edited on
Thanks for the suggestion, I appreciate it. Is my book good for UI and beginner windows? And Network Programming... always kinda wondered... is it server development or something? Never understood it.
Hi,

Your book does not teach UI, however it gives knowledge of back-end & internals of Windows kernel and usermode. It not only gives you theory but shows code so you can implement and use Windows special development dedicated function in your Application these include moving files and copying files using Windows API (1 - 2 lines of code) rather than using bare C++ (file input output libraries & such) which would take significant amount of time & possibly be much more time efficient than windows.