Want to Move onto Windows API Programming

Hello all,

I apologize firstly if this is a noobish question for a programmer. However, I have been working with C++ for about 3-4 years now - on and off - and decided I want to become a professional programmer.

I have learnt a lot of C++, including much of the STL, namespaces, OOP, etc. and want to move onto Windows Programming. However, as a novice programmer to you more professional or better experienced types, what would you say a programmer is required to know in C++ before moving onto the Win API.

My main goal is to become a Indie Game Programmer or Application programmer. I want to get into DirectX or OpenGL programming, but I do understand this is a task that needs to be taken one step at a time.

Thank you,

Lewis
Well. I asked that same question a while ago on here. You don't really need to know prerequisites for winAPI, other than a bit of registering classes. I learned it within 4 months (started learning*) of when I started programming. If you have been programming 3-4 years, you are more than ready. WinAPI isn't too difficult at all, other than able to understand stuff like threads, processes, jobs, kernels, etc. But I recommend learning it. It is pretty important to know. But, then again, you could accomplish these things with something like SFML, SDL, not sure of OpenGL, but you know, I am pretty amateur myself. I would like to learn DirectX, but I would hold off until DirectX12 is released. This way, you don't have to learn all of the new libraries and stuff they will include. Anyhow, you should probably learn it.