win api learning

Hi guys ,
I would like to learn WIN API programming is there any good books that any one would recommend for me.Please under stand that I don't know anything about Console programming and a complete beginner in specified field.BuT I consider myself a mid-level C++ LEARNER now.I tried using online PDF documents but I kind of couldn't adjust reading online tutorials So a good book with international availability will be fine
Thanks
Programming Windows Charles Petzold ed 5

Aceix.
x2 what Aceix said.

You just about have to start with console mode programming to learn C or C++. Note carefully that all the coding 'isms' in Charles' "Programming Windows" books are C isms - not C++ isms. This throws a lot of unsuspecting beginners a cruel twist. One of the main topics you will be agonizing over in learning C++ are classes. You will see none of that in Charles' book, nor anything whatsoever from the C++ Standard Library. The basic architecture of Windows was created before C++ became popular, and its Api is C based - not C++ based. However, it is very object oriented - if that's your thing. It's just C based - not C++ based. Just passing this information off as a warning.
yes, as others said, Charles Petzold book is "must read" for Win32.
also using the MSDN website in the same time while reading may clear some doubts from the book it self since the book is kinda old.
ya thanks for the reply.I learned C++ and is going to learn C soon so there will be no problem at all
Last edited on
lol wait, don't go learn C... you don't need to learn C.
Just use C++ and the Windows API it self.
nobody said you need C in order to fight with windows. :)
no,no.I got to learn C at college or else I will fail "basic computer engineering " paper ;)