Another newbie windows form question

I’m totally new to creating a window form application. My first attempt will be a form with two drop down combo boxes and a WebBrowser control under them.

I’m converting a console application that I wrote that creates an Intranet website on your hard drive to an interactive windows form application that creates the pages one at a time and displays them directly in the WebBrowser control.

The initialization process will be a bit complex so I want to make it a separate cpp file. I’ve looked at quite a few video examples on how to create the controls and modify them, but none of them go into how to do the initialization in a separate file that can do things like adding items to the dropdown controls and defining the default value. I can do that in the main form.h file, just not sure how to create an initialize.cpp file, call it from “InitializeComponent”, and then include lines in the external cpp file like:

this->comboBox1->Items->Add("line 1");

I’ve create the initialize.cpp file:

// Initialize.cpp : load data files and initialize controls..

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Form1.h"

using namespace MarketView;

void Initialize()
{
	return;
}

But when I compile the program I get a lot of errors

1>Compiling...
1>Initialize.cpp
1>.\Initialize.cpp(11) : error C2673: 
     'Initialize' : global functions do not have 'this' pointers
1>.\Initialize.cpp(11) : error C2227: 
     left of '->comboBox1' must point to class/struct/union/generic type
      left of '->Items' must point to class/struct/union/generic type
     left of '->Add' must point to class/struct/union/generic type
1>Build log was saved at "...MarketView\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
1>MarketView - 4 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========