new to MFC, trying to change a label based on an if statement using a button

closed account (2EwbqMoL)
hey all, Im new to using visual studio and MFC, i've been trying to use simple functions I know to get a hang of things and make a simple Hello world program with a little twist to get acquainted...

not going to copy/paste all the files, but I'll do a quick overview of what Ive tried so far...

I got success changing it once by establishing my variable as a private: CString txt; then on initiation of the dialog box using txt = "This is a Test"; and then changing that with OnBnClickedOk(){ txt = "Hello World!!!": UpdateDate (FALSE);}

but I decided to try to switch it back and forth between This is a Test... and Hello World!!!

I tried using OnBnClickedOK(){
if (txt="This is a Test...){
txt = "Hello World!!!";
}
else if (txt = "Hello World!!!){
txt = "This is a Test...";
}

that didnt work at all, in any way

I also tried linking the txt variable to an integer established in the same header file I established the CString txt... then on initiation of the dialog I tried both establishing what the int (I called it state) did, I used an if statement there, and also a similar if statement above in the button click function to try and add or subtract to that number, or set it to 1 or 2 directly.

when I say link... I mean I tried to set what txt stored based on a number value of 1 or 2, trying to use that as a switch... which never worked...

for some reason, if I didnt set state to 1 in the initiation I got a little bit of a random response where it would set it to 1 or 2 at compile (once I got hello world without setting it to anything!!!)

but either way, it seems to be ignoring the button clicks when I do that... they SHOULD be adding to the state if it is 1 or subtracting if it is 2, or just setting it to 2 if its 1... etc...