What's that Windows Library that's 'in' at the moment? WTL, ATL,.net , or MFC?

I'm a Computer Science student with some C++ experience and would eventually like to learn a windows GUI library. Some sites have warned that MFC is losing popularity because some of the programs made with the other libraries available have shown to have faster development times, but since MFC has been used for so long, there are more people who know it. So, if I were to learn a windows library, which would be my best bet if I wanted to get hired in the next 3-4 years (the time it will take to graduate with a B.S. and learn a library)?

Last edited on
Currently on top is QT - it's multi platform library : windows, mac, android, etc.. Its gaining popularity mainly because of embedded systems support.

If you want windows only programing c# .net is for you (which soon might be also ported to other platforms).

Honestly, if you will learn all components/widgets types you will easily move to any GUI framework.
closed account (z05DSL3A)
tapir2 wrote:
So, if I were to learn a windows library, which would be my best bet if I wanted to get hired in the next 3-4 years (the time it will take to graduate with a B.S. and learn a library)?

I would learn things like; Windows API, COM, Direct2D, Windows Runtime Library (WRL), and have a look at what Microsoft are saying for Windows 10.
If you want windows only programing c# .net is for you (which soon might be also ported to other platforms).

It already is!

Write your apps entirely in C#, sharing the same code on iOS, Android, Windows, Mac and more.

http://xamarin.com/

And they're already recruiting for people with this skill on jobserve.com (checking the site just now, there are 5 US based roles which mention Xamarin and 21 based in the UK.)

Andy
Last edited on
C# is definately more popular and has much faster development times. There are also MANY more jobs for c# than c++.