Visual C++ Reading Binary Files

First of all, I am a C programmer but am trying to write an application in Visual C++ in order to have the nice GUI. In my program I have to read the data in a binary file and store it in a data structure. This is easy in C using the fread() routine but in Visual C++ I cannot figure out how to do this and can't find any good examples doing a google search that aren't super complicated and don't give me compile errors.

My input file is stored in my text box.

txtRecordFile->Text

I want to open this file in binary mode and read the file until end of file and store each read into a structure that looks like...

struct Format11
{
unsigned id : 17;
unsigned notUsed : 1;
unsigned NotInLock : 1;
unsigned Parity : 1;
unsigned minor_time : 12;
};

struct Format11 myData;
Here's an example of reading from a binary file which contains numbers:

#include <fstream>

int main()
{
    std::ifstream binaryFile("binaryFile.txt", std::ios::binary);
    unsigned firstValue, secondValue, thirdValue;

binaryFile >> firstValue;
    binaryFile >> secondValue;
    binaryFile >> thirdValue;

binaryFile.close();
    return 0;
}

If that isn't what you wanted, let me know. I hope this helps.

Edit: This assumes each value in the binary file is separated by one newline.
Edit: Apologies, I did misunderstand.
Last edited on
LASims wrote:
This is easy in C using the fread() routine
You can do that in Visual C++ too. You should be able to use your C code in a C++ environment without problems.

@Wyboth
This would only work if "binaryFile.txt" contains text and not indeed binary like the struct Format11 of the OP implies

First of all, I am a C programmer but am trying to write an application in Visual C++ in order to have the nice GUI.

You can 'have the nice GUI' with C programs too. To turn a C coder into an instant C++ coder just compile with C++ instead of C, i.e., change your file extensions from *.c to *.cpp. It worked for me 15 years ago!!!! :)